Swin Cash and Tamika Catchings Nominated For Naismith Basketball Hall Of Fame

By: Zachary Diamond
Posted: December 20, 2019

The nominations for the Naismith Basketball Hall Of Fame were announced on December 19, with Swin Cash and Tamika Catchings headlining the nominated list of WNBA players.

Cash and Catchings join Becky Hammon and ten other players and coaches from the WNBA who have been previously nominated in the past and are still on the ballot. Additional nominees include Leta Andrews, Jennifer Azzi, Suzie McConnell, Debbie Miller-Palmore, Kim Mulkey (as player and coach), Marianne Stanley, Barbara Stevens, Valerie Still, and Marian Washington.

Cash mostly played for the Detroit Shock and Seattle Storm over 15 seasons averaging 10.7 PPG/ 5.3 RPG/ 2.4 APG. Cash was a four-time WNBA All-Star and two-time All-WNBA. Cash won three WNBA championships and two NCAA championships while playing college for UConn.

Catchings played for the Indiana Fever for 15 seasons averaging 16.1 PPG/ 7.3 RPG/ 3.3 APG. She was a 10-time WNBA All-Star and 12-time All-WNBA. Catchings was the 2011 WNBA MVP and won the WNBA finals with the Fever in 2012.

Towards the end of her playing career, Cash became a studio analyst for MSG Networks in 2015 covering the New York Knicks pre-game and post-game show. In 2017, Cash was named Director of franchise development for the New York Liberty.

This summer, the New Orleans Pelicans hired Cash to join their front office. Cash was named the vice president of basketball operations and team development. Cash joins fellow WNBA Hall of Famer Teresa Weatherspoon who is a two-way player development coach for the Pelicans.

Becky Hammon is in her third year of eligibility for the Hall Of Fame. She has been an assistant coach for the San Antonio Spurs since 2014, the first female full-time assistant coach in the NBA. Many expect Hammon to become the first female head coach in the NBA at some point.

There are currently eleven former WNBA players in the Naismith Hall Of Fame. NBA players Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett, and Chris Bosh headline the rest of this year’s ballot. The full class is expected to be announced in April 2020.

For more thoughts and opinions from Zachary, check out his author page or Twitter.

Scroll to Top